top of page

10 for about 30



Spent quite a bit of time in Kilbuck Creek today.

The water level was still just a tad higher than what I would have liked.

Clarity was anywhere between 12 and 16 inches, with a moderate strain from recent rains. No visible discoloration from the landfill as of yet but I do expect it with in the next month or so. I'm not sure if the bite picked up as the day grew older or if it just took me awhile to figure it out. They seemed to oxygenating themselves by hanging out in fast current. I found them on current seams of eddies, mid-stream after riffs, hugging downfalls that laid directly in currents, and on the bottom edges of deep-cut, fast moving runs. Most hits on the tube were quick and short. I tried a couple other types of lures such as a Wacky Worm, a Leech w/slider-head, and a Jig-n-Pig. Only hits came on the tube. I'm sure it's just a confidence thing I have to get over. Anyhoot, I had a ton of misses but an enjoyable day on the 'Buck with 10 smallmouth brought to hand, all of which were on the small side at 10 to 13 inches.

I probably should have tied on a Jerk-Bait.

Pics of the day....






5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page