top of page

SMH Guide Trip - Rocco




Area -CVM

Wade/Float - Wade

Water Level - 5.91ft.

CFS - N/A

Water Temp - N/A

Clarity - 2-3 inches Heavy Stain

Fly/Spin - Spin

---------------------------------------------------------------------

SMALLMOUTH HUNTER GUIDE SERVICE TRIP


Had my very first ever Smallmouth Hunter Guide Service Trip on Friday, August 23rd.


We Rocco was the man and he is pretty new to smallmouth fishing and wade fishing. We met up at Blackhawk Springs East and shared info with each other on each of our ailments and then set out to catch some smallmouth.


I was kind of bummed shortly after stepping foot in water as the clarity was pretty bad from a short, but heavy, rain fall two nights before. I really did not expect the storm runoff stain to be that bad.

We started off tossing top water lures and was having trouble finding any action. Rocco asked how long I stick with something before switching to something else? Considering the clarity, water level and time of year, I informed Rocco that I felt it best to stick with the topwater lure. I guess I should mention that I had tied on a tube and was bouncing the bottom in search of some action but wasn't finding any. Ziltch!


Rocco being fairly new to fishing and also to wading, had to spend some time working out a few mechanics. This is an important part of wade fishing and it is important that Rocco tackle these issues without assistance. Of course I was there to assisted if asked.

Rocco kept casting the topwater lure and finally popped a tough fighting smallmouth that went about 12 inches.

We each enjoyed the day and each others company and discussed plans of getting out together again as fishing friends to polish up on a few of those mechanics and of course catch more and bigger smallmouth.

THE END

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page