top of page

First 2020 Kish Float


Kishwaukee River Stretches

Stretch - KM

Water Level - 6.77ft.

Clarity - 10 inches at best

Wade/Float - Float

Fly/Spin - Spin


First 2020 Kish Float

Well it's about damn time!

And man did it feel good.

Put the kayak in at Kishwaukee River Forest Preserve and floated down to the take-out at Atwood, about a 3.5 mile float. The clarity was at about 10 inches but I couldn't wait any longer to get out and chase some smallies. The water levels are still too high for wading and will probably remain that way for another couple of weeks. I started off tossing a topwater popper and wasn't pulling up any action so I switched to a tube bait for a little bit. No luck.

Pulled into a little shore line eddy and tossed the popper up stream towards the current break and popped my first smallie of the day that probably would have taped around 13 or 14 inches. I stuck with the topwater for a while and even switched it up a little bit by tying on the magical Whopper Plopper. No luck.

I must not know how to work that damn lure. Awful lot of money for nothing. I switched back to the popper and picked 2 more that were about 17 inches and then I picked up a 16 inches on a tube a little later in there day.

I ended the day going 4 for 5 and was very pleased to have hooked into a couple good quality smallmouth.

It was a fun day. Much needed enjoyment.





The End



182 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page