top of page

The August Hunt


The month of August started off a little slow with some family matters which need attention. Some times the world has to stop for such things.


Received a call from my fishing buddy (Paul) informing me that a spot had become available for the Menominee River trip I had to drop out of a month prior. I really enjoy this trip and was happy to be back on it.


The drive up became a little exciting when the kayak rack on top of the car came loose and sent the ass end of my kayak smashing down on the rear window of Paul's car shattering the glass. Then came the rain. My kayak was okay.



The Menominee was flowing pretty high when we arrived and as luck would have it the levels just continue to go up from the moment we arrived. Water clarity remained good throughout the trip and had no effect on the fishing. My biggest smallmouth cam on the first day with a beast of a 19 incher. Paul topped out with a 20.5 inch smallmouth and was the front runner with smallies brought to hand.


A few pics from the trip....




When I landed my 19 incher I was kind of flabbergasted and fumbled around with my camera and didn't really get much of a good shot...



BACK TO THE KISH


The Kish water levels dropped down to what I consider "Low Water Caution" levels and the Summer time heat flared up to the Dog Days of Summer levels in the second half of August.

I got out a few times with the fly rod without much luck. Looking forward to the Fall season bite and plan out hitting it pretty hard from here on out.


More pics from August outings...




Welcome September! It's Football Season!!! Go out and get 'em!






65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page