top of page

Kishwaukee River Rec Project



I've had this idea for a number of years and took the time last winter to developed what I believe to be an easy to use website to help educate and assist the Kishwaukee River rec community in making the right decision on whether or not to float. The website will be used to educate with such info as River Etiquette (currently posted), Smallmouth C&R Season, Cold Weather Float Tips, and of course Safety, Safety, Safety.


The Kishwaukee River Rec live site has been slow moving since it's release at the end of June. It has received some good feed back but low amount of rain this year hasn't really offered to many opportunities for folks to use it.


I have design of a river trash bag that I am going to be getting some pricing on. Looking for a gross of about 300 to start. My plan is to be at the Baumann put-in on Fourth of July weekend, 2024, since that is the busiest weekend for tubers. I plan to hand out these trash bags for a couple hours and I'm hoping to have some of you join me. I'll be in touch.


The image on the bag I created is just a sample with some logos I hope to have on there, amongst others, showing who supports this project, whether with man power or $$$.




Baumann Canoe Launch Kishwaukee River Rec Sign


The main purpose of this is to save a life. It has always bothered me to see on the evening news people try to float at dangerous levels and end up having to be rescued or dead. Simply because they don't know. There's no reason for that.

I also plan to get permission from the village of Cherry Valley to post a Parking lot size sign at the Baumann put-in.


If you are associated with any other groups you feel might be interested in being part of this project feel free to contact me.


Terry Dodge

Smallmouth Hunter












36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page