top of page

Come On Already!




Area - SW

Wade/Float - Wade

Water Level - Fairdale @ 2.34

Water Temp - 75+

Clarity - 12"

Fly/Spin - Fly

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Got out early this morning with my buddy Tim. We both tossed flies.

The river looked nice with about 12 inches of clarity and flow that was not too strong.

We both started out throwing top-water flies, Tim with a Jude-Bug, and myself with a Blockhead Popper.

It sure felt like a good moring for a top=water bite but nothing was happening.

Tim switched things up and started tossing a bead fly for a little weight. I ended up hooking into a tiny (3")

smallmouth or rock bass on top-water that shook the hook while stripping it in. Tim soon started hooking into fish with his bead-head fly. I think Tim hooked into maybe 3 or 4 fish on this outing but none came with any size, all probably below 10 inches. With all the rain we had in the month of June and all the high water we have had, I wouldn't think that the smallies would be in their "Dog Days of Summer Funk", but maybe they are?

Sorry, I have to try and make some kind of an excuse for not finding much action. I can't say it was the stretch of river I chose for us to fish. If you were to read a book on where to find river smallmouth well, that book would have been written about this stretch. Come On Already!!! I need to get a good on the books.

Tim in Mid-Cast.....

(picture by Paul Trybul :) )



20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page