top of page

Dog Days




Area - CVM/SW/CVM

Wade/Float - Wade28/Float29

Water Level - PRY12 @ 6.05 / Fairdale @ 2.18

Water Temp - 76+

Clarity - Poor/Good

Fly/Spin - Fly

---------------------------------------------------------------------


Wow! I got out with ISA buddy Jim on Friday the 27th.

Jim came into town from the northside of Chicago on some early morning biz and would then have the day free. We stepped in water right around 10:00am. and began wading up the north branch of the Kish. We were both slinging the fly rod and we were both having trouble finding any action. Jim was tossing weighted flies, and I (of course) was tossing a Blockhead Popper om top. I was a little surprised at the clarity of the north branch. At this level (6.05) the clarity should be at least 15 inches. I would have to say that on this day, however, the clarity could not have been any better than 6 inches. We reach an area on the north that was too deep to wade and I suggested that we turn back and wade up the south branch in search of our smallmouth fix. North branch did not produce.

The south branch clarity was much better than the norths. Now we should be ablt to get into some fish.

Easier said than done. Again the fish was tough but Jim did get things started off by landing a real nice size white bass. It is not often we get white bass in the Kish but I have seen a handfull over the years. This one the Jim caught is probably the biggest I have seen from the Kish. Caught with a Clouser Minnow....


The fishing remained tough throughout the day but Jim wanted to keep trudging on, so trudge we did.

"Trudging" doesn't make the bite get any better. We trudged and trudged and trudged thru the water and at one put had to take to land, The bite never got much better and I think we ended our 10 hour wade out with 10 fish brought to hand. There was no real pattern of any kind to tie in with any of the fish brought to hand.

Dog Days of Summer, I guess.


I did get out the following day around 7am. with the kayak and float/fished my way down the mainbranch to the Kishwaukee Paddle Fest. Again the dog of Summer nipped my ass.

The Paddle Fest was fun!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page