top of page

Not Much To Say




Area - SW

Wade/Float - Wade

Water Level - 2.64 (gauge seems faulty)

Water Temp - 67

Clarity - Crystal Clear

Fly/Spin - Fly

---------------------------------------------------------------------


Fishing sucks!

Or maybe it's just me that sucks (?).

It has been a super tough year for me to this point.

I got out last weekend (9/15) for an all day float of the south branch in Winnebago County. I was ready to hook into some smallmouth so I broke my promise to myself of sticking only with the fly rod this season.

I loaded up the kayak with both fly rod and spin gear and set out to land a few smallies. To keep things short, I pretty much just ended up kayaking all day. There was really no bite to be found. I did hook into one (1) little smallie with a top water lure on the spin gear. Pretty much just dabbled the lure in a fast current run.


I got out again this weekend (9/23) for an all day, fly rod only, wade of the south branch in Winnebago County. Once again the bite was hard to find. I did miss quite a few little baby dinks (4 inch fish) by dabbling a popper in fast current runs such as I did last week with the spin gear.


The highlight of the outing was running into a father and son team from the Chicago area that drove up to fly fish the Kish. They too were having trouble finding any action. The father asked if I happened to be Terry Dodge the Smallmouth Hunter? After my reply of "Yes I am.", he then turned to his son and said "This guy is famous."

HA! "Famous" at not catching fish.

I sure hope this bad streak comes to an end soon.




25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page